LDS Singles

Thriving and Growing as an LDS Single

Another Plug for a Favorite Single Parent Blog

Leave a comment

 

Photo by Eric Molina on Flickr

Photo by Eric Molina on Flickr

This is another plug for a fellow blogger on WordPress, the James Cruise Ministries Blog.  He has excellent, frequent, short and inspiring bits of advice for single parents.  (And he posts more frequently than I do!) He also has an excellent blogroll of helpful links for those going through divorce, single parenting, step parenting, etc.

And a few examples of his posts:

Grief and Your Children, Part I

Grieving and Healing 

Crunching Time

Here is a little about James. He’s been there, so he knows what he’s talking about:

Who I Am 

My life was changed forever during my 26th birthday party when my father, mother and one of my younger brothers were murdered by my youngest brother.  Fourteen years later tragedy again invaded my life.  My life was again changed forever when my beloved wife of 12 years was killed in an automobile accident, while my three young children, ages 11, 9, and 5 were severely injured.  I raised a daughter and two sons as a single-parent dad for over fifteen years.  After more than fifteen years as a widower and single parent, my life was once again changed forever.  I was given a second chance at love and chose to marry again.  My wife and I are pursuing the challenges that step-families face, desiring to live out God’s plan for our family.

My Story

My story is one of facing death and grief straight in the eye.  My story is how I learned to cope with tragedy and move through these devastating life-altering events.  My prayer is that my story will encourage and inspire others who may have experienced or are experiencing life-altering events in their lives.

 Ministry Vision

My desire is to honor God as I share the lessons I have learned about grieving the loss of loved ones, raising my children as a single—parent dad, facing the reality of my own death, the rewards and challenges of developing a successful step-family, and the art of reinventing myself after each of these life-altering events.

 

Following Christ,

James Cruise

Author: pickleclub1971

I'm a single mom of 2: a Southern CA native, who transplanted to Utah 4 years ago. I have one 18 year old who is off to the Ivy League, and one 14 year old who is in high school. I served an LDS Mission to Southern France and I’ve also lived in the San Francisco Bay Area, Idaho, Northern Arizona, and New Hampshire. I love 80’s music, classical music, choral music, playing the piano, singing, speaking what French I still remember, and talking about history and music with whomever will listen. I love that my kids are better at math than I was at their age. (But they still get frequent historical references from me…anyone familiar with Ducky from NCIS? He’s that kind of medical examiner, I’m that kind of mom.) My kids also think I know all the lyrics to all the songs from the 80’s, mainly because I’m good at making them up and faking it when I don’t know. Sometimes they catch me. I’m currently disabled with PTSD (Post Traumatic Stress Disorder). I want to get better (of course) and be an advocate for trauma survivors and others with mental illnesses. I like people in general. I suffer from the delusion that I can make everyone my friend, but of course that isn’t possible: but I still believe that the world can be a better place.

Leave a Reply

