LDS Singles

Thriving and Growing as an LDS Single

To The Single Parents

Leave a comment

As a single parent myself (although one in an unusual situation at the moment) my heart goes out to the struggles of other single parents.  During my divorce, I was in a ward in Los Angeles near UCLA with mostly young students and student families, and there were only two other single parents in the ward that I was aware of.  They immediately reached out to me and I learned of the special “club” that many single parents seem to share: one for all, and all for one.  My Relief Society President (married) was excited to share with me a new online “community” of those who are LDS called LDS Linkup and emphasized that it wasn’t specifically for dating.  We formed a group there for single parents, and it was extremely helpful to me, even if it was “just” online.  While I haven’t been on Linkup in several years, so I can’t vouch for what it’s like now, I’m still grateful for the online relationships I made there that helped get me through, and more importantly for the friends in real life who reached out to me because their families had unfortunately also been touched by divorce.

I’m excited to share the things I’ve found that have helped me through my journey in the hopes of making it easier for someone else, and look for more things to share with you as well.  And *please* share the things that have worked for you, and perhaps the things that haven’t been so helpful.  For the future, what are some of the things people that said that have not been so helpful?  Please e-mail me or post. If you could accompany it by something people have done or said that has been helpful, or your own idea of something that would be helpful, please include that too!

For today, a list of things on the Church’s website that I often turned to for help, or that I’ve found since then:

  1. In general, just listening to the recordings of General Conference or the audio scriptures has been very helpful.  Parents in general can find it difficult to find time to sit down and read, but these resources mean that you can do other things that have to get done and hopefully listen at the same time.  Or, if you want to read, but it just seems to take too much energy for the few minutes you do have to sit down, sometimes it can bring that added peace that seems illusive during a busy day.
  2. If you have the resources to do so, listen to the scriptures or General Conference in the car.
  3. LDS.org: Gospel Library Support Materials for Parents
  4. Do a search on LDS.org  for single parenting, singles, parenting, etc.  (the language on the Church’s site can be changed by clicking on the icon on the top that looks like the Earth)
  5. Various talks and articles on single parenting from LDS.org:
  6. Resources for Single Parent Families

We are capable of doing our most important job to the best of our ability: us, and the Lord.

Coming soon for Single Parents: 

  1. Learning to accept help: how, when, and why
  2. My latest favorite parenting book
Author: pickleclub1971

I'm a single mom of 2: a Southern CA native, who transplanted to Utah 4 years ago. I have one 18 year old who is off to the Ivy League, and one 14 year old who is in high school. I served an LDS Mission to Southern France and I’ve also lived in the San Francisco Bay Area, Idaho, Northern Arizona, and New Hampshire. I love 80’s music, classical music, choral music, playing the piano, singing, speaking what French I still remember, and talking about history and music with whomever will listen. I love that my kids are better at math than I was at their age. (But they still get frequent historical references from me…anyone familiar with Ducky from NCIS? He’s that kind of medical examiner, I’m that kind of mom.) My kids also think I know all the lyrics to all the songs from the 80’s, mainly because I’m good at making them up and faking it when I don’t know. Sometimes they catch me. I’m currently disabled with PTSD (Post Traumatic Stress Disorder). I want to get better (of course) and be an advocate for trauma survivors and others with mental illnesses. I like people in general. I suffer from the delusion that I can make everyone my friend, but of course that isn’t possible: but I still believe that the world can be a better place.

Leave a Reply

